Monday, December 10, 2007

Denver Post Ovation Nominations

The Post's annual Ovation Award nominations are out, and Colorado Springs is better-represented than ever.

Of 27 non-Denver Center categories on the Readers Choice ballot, Springs productions are nominated in 10 — especially impressive considering that the only local productions the Post (aka John Moore) reviews are those by TheatreWorks and the Fine Arts Center, and only a handful of those.

For instance, Moore reviewed “Into the Woods,” but not “Brighton Beach Memoirs” — which accounts for the otherwise inexplicable omission of Marco Robinson in the “Young Actor” category. (Unfortunately, this is one of the categories with no provision for write-ins.)

The Fine Arts Center's production of "Into the Woods," garnered nine nominations. Only "Ragtime" - a partnership between Boulder’s Dinner Theatre and Shadow, Denver's only black troupe - had more, with 10.

Among the other local nominees was Murray Ross, my old friend and frequent conflict-of-interest. Ross was nominated twice - for "Theater Person of the Year" and "Best Year by a Director."

The local non-Ross nominations on the Readers Choice ballot, by play:

  • "Antonio's Revenge" (TheatreWorks): Best actor in a comic role - Michael Cobb
  • "Into the Woods" (Fine Arts Center Theatre Company): Best Musical; Best ensemble; Best actor in a musical - Kelly Walters; Supporting actress, musical - Mercedes Perez, Sally Lewis Hybl; Best director, musical - Alan Osburn
  • "The Importance of Being Earnest" (TheatreWorks): Best actress in a comic role - Sarah Fallon
  • "The Syringa Tree" (TheatreWorks): Best year by an actress - Karen Slack

In addition, "Into the Woods" also received nominations for Best Band - Roberta Jacyshyn; Musical Number - “Opening," Mary Ripper Baker and Roberta Jacyshyn; and Set Design - Christopher L. Sheley. TheatreWorks received nominations for Best New Work - "Zorro"; and Best Remount - The Syringa Tree.

The full story is available here, and the ballot here.


Post a Comment

<< Home